Dempo lost three finals in a row but in 1976 nobody could stop them, not even the famed Leaders Club, winners of the inaugural edition. Inspired by a brilliant Francis D’Souza hat-trick, Dempo demolished Leaders 3-0. D’Souza scored in the first minute itself to set the tempo of the match. This was the first of Dempo’s nine titles, a record that has remained unmatched.